HNBA Welcomes 2009-2010 Board of Governors and Officers

September 18, 2009
Román D. Hernández of Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt takes the helm as HNBA National President

The members of the Hispanic National Bar Association (HNBA) are pleased to announce the 2009 – 2010 HNBA Board of Governors and newly appointed officers. Román D. Hernández, partner at Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt, was sworn-in as National President along with its new Board of Governors at the 34th Annual Convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico this past September 5, 2009.

“I am truly honored to serve as National President of the HNBA,” stated Hernández “Last month, America witnessed HNBA Member Sonia M. Sotomayor being sworn in as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. This historic moment highlights the advancement Hispanics have made in the legal profession and also underscores the work that still lies ahead.”

“I am honored to have the opportunity to lead and work with a top-notch board whose advocacy work plays an integral role in bringing diversity to the legal profession,” Hernández added.

The 2009-2010 HNBA Board of Governors and officers includes:

Executive Committee:

President: Román D. Hernández

President-Elect: Diana Sen

Immediate Past President: Ramona E. Romero

Vice President of External Affairs: Liz Lopez

Vice President of Membership: Jacquelynn Ruiz

Vice President of Programs: Sean Andrade

Vice President of Regions: Peter Reyes

Vice President of Sections and Committees: Ricardo Aponte-Parsi

General Counsel: Uvaldo Herrera

Secretary: Cynthia Mares

Treasurer: Armando Castro

National Finance Director: David Rios

Regional Presidents:

Region I (NE): Roberta Ruiz

Region II (NY): Gelvina Stevenson

Region III (NJ): Miguel A. Pozo

Region IV (DE, PA): Rafael Zahralddin-Aravena

Region V (DC, MD, VA, WV): Bettina Guevara

Region VI (NC, SC): Hada de Varona Haulsee

Region VII (AL, GA, MS): Rolando Bascumbe

Region VIII (FL): Jorge Mestre

Region X (KY, OH, TN): Dennis Nunez

Region XII(AR, LA, OK, TX): David Maldonado

Region XVI (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA): Jesse Valdez

Region XVII (Northern CA, HI): Helen Santana

Region XVIII (Southern CA): Gabriel Sandoval

Region XIX (U.S. Virgin Islands, PR, Guam): Richard Graffam

Other Board Members:

Young Lawyers Division Representative: Melisa Lopez-Franzen

Law Student Division President: Giovanny Ricaldes

Judicial Co-Liaison: Hon. Francisca Cota & Hon. Carmen Velasquez